Disconnecting the USB

54

P

Disconnecting the USB 

cable from your computer or 
removing the “Memory Stick” 
from your camera during USB 
connection

For Windows 2000, Me, or XP users

1

Double-click 

 on the tasktray.

2

Click 

 (Sony DSC), then click [Stop].

3

Confirm the device on the confirmation 
screen, then click [OK].

4

Click [OK].
Step 4 is unnecessary for Windows XP 
users.

5

Disconnect the USB cable or remove the 
“Memory Stick.”

For Windows 98 or 98SE users

Confirm that the access indicators (page 53) 
on the LCD screen are turned white and 
carry out only Step 5 above.

Copying images using 
“Image Transfer”

— Windows 98/98SE/2000/Me

Connect the camera and your 
computer with the USB cable.

“Image Transfer” launches and the images 
are automatically copied to the computer.

Normally “Image Transfer” and “Date” folders 
are created inside the “My Documents” folder, 
and all of the image files recorded with the 
camera are copied into these folders.

You can change the “Image Transfer” settings 
(page 55).

When “ImageMixer” (page 52) is installed and 
image copying is completed using “Image 
Transfer,” “ImageMixer” automatically 
launches and images appear.

— Windows XP

Connect the camera and your 
computer with the USB cable.

“Image Transfer” starts up automatically 
and the images are automatically copied to 
the computer.
Windows XP is set so that the OS AutoPlay 
Wizard activates.
If you want to cancel the setting, follow the 
procedure below.

a

Click [Start], then click [My 
Computer].

b

Right-click [Sony 
MemoryStick], then click 
[Properties].

c

Cancel the setting.

1

Click [AutoPlay].

2

Set [Content type] to [Pictures].

3

Check [Select an action to perform] 
under [Actions], select [Take no 
action], then click [Apply].

4

Set [Content type] to [Video files] 
and repeat step 3. Then, set 
[Content type] to [Mixed content] 
and repeat step 3 again.

5

Click [OK].
The “Properties” screen closes.
The OS AutoPlay Wizard does not 
start up automatically even if the 
USB connection is made next time.