Viewing images using a personal computer

BBBB

 P
lay
b

a

ck

31

Viewing images using a personal 
computer

You can view data recorded with your camera on a personal computer, modify and 
attach it to e-mail using application software. This section describes the method for 
viewing images on a personal computer using the supplied USB cable.
There are two ways to make the USB connection, which are the normal connection 
and the PTP connection (page 81). This is set using [USB CONNECT] in the setup 
settings. Users will be informed at the Sony website when PTP connection is 
supported. Here describes the way using the [NORMAL] setting.

The factory setting of USB mode is [NORMAL].
The mode can be checked and set as follows.

1 Set the mode dial to SET UP.

2 Select [SETUP2] with v/V, then press B.

3 Select [USB CONNECT] with v/V, then press B.

4 Select the connection mode with v/V.

The USB cable is used to connect the camera to a personal computer so that 
operations can be performed on image files recorded in a “Memory Stick” from the 
personal computer.
In order to use the USB cable, a USB driver must be installed in the personal 
computer beforehand.
Be sure to also refer to the operation manuals for your personal computer and the 
application software.

Notes

Data recorded with your camera is stored in the following formats. Make sure that applications 
that support these file formats are installed on your personal computer.
— Still images (other than TEXT mode, uncompressed mode and Clip Motion): JPEG format
— Moving images/audio: MPEG format
— Uncompressed mode still images: TIFF format
— TEXT mode/Clip Motion: GIF format

Depending on your application software, the file size may increase when you open a still image 
file.

When you copy the image to the camera from your computer, which was modified with a 
retouching software and was converted to another file format, the “FILE ERROR” message 
may appear and you may be unable to open the image.

Depending on your application software, only the first frame of the Clip Motion file may be 
played back.

Communications with your computer (for Windows only)
Communications between your camera and your computer may not recover after recovering 
from Suspend or Sleep.